In 1818, Nicolas François Billecart and Elisabeth Salmon establish their Champagne House, with a special concern about the wines’ quality.
The motto of the house survived the centuries :
« Give priority to quality, strive for excellence »
Billecart-Salmon engaged itself on two piliars : excellence and demand. Faces of the 6th generation, François et Antoine Rolland Billecart are still committed to these values and are cultivating a part of mystery, which impact the Prestige of the House.
The vineyard Billecart-Salmon covers an area of 100 hectares and is located on the Montagne de Reims, on the Marne Valley and on the Côte des Blancs. The champagne produced come from 40 crus of the Champagne région! However despite its large vineyard, the House has to purchase some grapes (from 220 hectares) to be able to produce its famous Champagne.
In the heart of Champagne, in the village of Mareuil-sur-Aÿ, the House Billecart-Salmon is preserving one of its greatest source of pride: its family garden. Through two century, each generation invested itself in that piece of art!
The precious bottles are aging in chalk cellars of the 17th and 19th Century. There are waiting bottles from the prestigious cuvee Clos Saint Hilaire, rekowned for its rareness.
Did you know?
The French King Louis XIII gave the permission to Pierre Billecart to create its own crest during the 17th century! Those ones were for a long time on the oak casks…